Whither, Warmachine?

OK, so here’s my problem with Warmachine at the moment – yes I’ve played alot of games, and I’m probably burned out on it. Yes, I fell into a painting hiatus-hole (thank-you Skaven for getting me out of that). The real problem is that I don’t know what Warmachine actually is these days, so it’s on hold until that gets well and truly sorted out.

Here’s what I mean – the Warmachine MkII testing rules came out, and my fellow gaming buddies and I embraced it. I even printed and bound this thing because I knew I’d be using it alot. I printed the cards, I made the lists, and in the end the games were good. Pretty much the same, but better; and I liked the new army list assembly procedure. But then, we were all pretty much torn as to which version we’d be playing when we got together, because some of us wanted to use our Horde armies, now incompatible with MkII, and although the rules were now better, the illustration-less, index-less rulebook was sometimes a pain to use.

Then there was a MkII update. And I refused to reprint or disassemble my “bound” copy, or use the “final” stat cards, which weren’t cards at all now, but bloody great big 8.5 x 11″ sheets of ugly layout. And the real rules weren’t that far away – January it seems? I can wait. With so many choices of rules to play now (3), and without everyone in the group up to date on all of them, Warmachine took a back seat; where it will probably remain until January.

Until then though, my interest in Fantasy has resurfaced (thanks to Skaven), and the club activity at my FLGS is way ahead of Warmachine. We’ll see what January brings – but I’m interested – is anyone else feeling the same way about this great game? Does Warmachine feel like it’s in purgatory?

Now the same thing will happen with Hordes. The new MkII Rules for Hordes are online at Privateer, but there are no cards! Just 8.5 x 11″ pages! Hey PP, I know that takes time, but come on – way more convenient than 167 pages of stats.

One thought on “Whither, Warmachine?

  1. Interesting to hear WM is on hold with you Dave, I hear where you are coming from, clunky versions of the rules and all.

    For me, I always wanted to get uber excited about this system, but the models slow me down, just can’t get excited to paint them.

Leave a Reply

