DBA with English Andrew

Andrew's start with the Later Achaemenid Persians (II/7).

Andrew's start with the Later Achaemenid Persians (II/7).

English Andrew dropped by to play some DBA, with miniatures supplied by Dave May.

Dave actually had the same Later Persian army I’d bought from Xyston, already in his collection. Throw them up against the historically paired Saitic Egyptians (I/53), also supplied by David, and you’ve got some good gaming ahead of you.

During game one, in which I used the Persians (and their 4xSp, not their 4xAux), Andrew set up his Egyptian spear line in between two flanking pieces of bad terrain that he expertly defended with psiloi and bowmen. I spent most of the game trying to figure out how my cavalry could take advantage – but they couldn’t. Before I knew it, I had trashed four units in the attempts, and Andrew had lost no stands at all. MVP goes to the two Egyptian bow stands, who took out 3 of the 4 units.

Scythed Chariot attacks the Egyptian heavy chariot general in an act of quick kill desperation.

Scythed Chariot attacks the Egyptian heavy chariot general in an act of quick kill desperation.

Game two, and I wanted to avenge my loss with the same army. Using a different board, I defended this time, and managed to take the high ground in the centre of the board with my 4xAux, only to find Andrew totally unwilling to come up and fight them. (Sensibly so.) For several turns I couldn’t get enough pips to come down in a coordinated attack, and the game ended with Andrew picking apart my flanks while the unassailable centre held. This was arguably, the worst rolled game of DBA I’d ever had. Even Andrew was embarassed for me. Three times in a row I rolled 1 for pips, and probably lost my 4 stands to doubled results. Even my 4 vs 2 scythed chariot attack was stopped dead.

Game Three, and it’s my turn to use the Egyptians. This time the spear lines actually meet, and after a nasty pushing match in the centre, my Egyptians manage to kill a spear stand, with support. Add to that a couple of low value light horse and psiloi, and the battle was mine! Although Andrew did make it close with a scythed chariot run through a hole in the right side of my line that almost took out my general! Andrew did suffer from bad command pips in this game though, and I eagerly took advantage.

Beautiful paint job. Minis by Dave May.

Beautiful paint job. Minis by Dave May.

End result – the Egyptians win every game, with a good mix of units and good command. A great day’s gaming – and with great minis. Thanks again Andrew, and you too Dave.

Leave a Reply

