Battlemind Painting Table-Apr.27-09

painting-table

Battlemind painting table overview

Here’s a pic of my painting table at the moment. I have a unit of 6 Iron Fang Pikemen on the go – almost complete. There’s also a unit of 6 Doom Reavers too. The reason I’m doing these guys now is my new interest in playing Khador with the MkII rules – otherwise I’d probably have some more Trollbloods done, or be farther along on my new Hardrim army for LotR SBG.

The 10mm guys at the back of the mat are from Battle of Five Armies – I’ve based the goblins up for DBA as Hordes elements, so there’s quite alot of them to paint yet.

I have 2 glazed ceramic palettes that I use for painting. Only 1 is shown, and when it needs cleaning I swap it out for the other one, and clean them simultaneously. These palettes are awesome – but they have to be ceramic if you’re using acrylic paint. When they’re clogged with dried paint, as always happens after a few days of painting, I’ll take them downstairs and soak them in a pot of hot water for about an hour. The water penetrates the paint and you can easily lift it off when you clean the palette – usually just by scraping it with your fingernails. The paint lifts in the same flat puddles it dried in. If there’s any white glue on the palette, it too comes off in a blob. Then they’re like new – ready to use again.

painting-table21

Battlemind painting table closeup

Here’s a closeup of the minis I’m currently working on. You can see a few Haradrim spearmen in the mix too.

My painting station is where I spend most of my “gaming” hobby time. I get hundreds of miniatures painted a year because it’s an efficient table to work at:

  1. It’s always setup
  2. The paint rack at the back makes it easy to find the colours I need, or remind me what I even have available
  3. The lighting is 50/50 yellow and daylight bulbs, so I’m looking at accurate colour while I paint.
  4. My models are stuck onto film canisters for easy access with a brush – no chance of touching the figures.
  5. Paintbrush roundabout holds my most frequently used brushes, x-acto blades, tweezers – even a tooth brush
  6. Toothbrush – here’s a tip – you know when you’re flashing plastic and you get little plastic bits sometimes clinging to the model? Use a toothbrush and brush the area. The plastic falls off. And yes, the toothbrush is clean – it was bought specifically for modelling, and doesn’t have to have hard bristles. It does not scratch the plastic.

Leave me a comment if you have a question! Now get back to work.

5 thoughts on “Battlemind Painting Table-Apr.27-09

  1. Battlemind,

    Cant find a link to email you so here is to hoping this reaches you.

    On the paint rack, i like it as well and curious on it’s source. Ikea you say? Can u elaborate please? Direct email response would be appreciated. :-)

    Grimm

  2. Sorry Grimm – only the painting table is by Ikea. The paint rack was a custom job, hand-crafted by my father as a gift. Coolest thing ever…

  3. hi,
    ever thought of switching to a wet palette? i used ceramic palettes as well for mixing colours but switched to a self-made wet palette and did not regret it:

    just a plastic container, a layer of sponge (add some water to soak the sponge) cover the sponge with baking paper and mix colors on top of it. they stay wet for a very long time :) and if the paper is full, just replace it…

    cheers,
    yo-chen

Leave a Reply

