Ten Gaming Resolutions for 2009

avatar_dovadI hate resolutions. But it wasn’t always this way.

I used to make lifestyle resolutions every New Years – lofty but well-meaning resolutions that would change my life for the better. And whether they were accomplished or not didn’t matter – the serendipitous point was to reflect… and make change. Most of my resolutions go by the wayside because I forget them, not because I give up on them.

So here’s a digital entry for Ten Gaming Resolutions for 2009 – changes to my gaming lifestyle, that should make things better in the year to come. And I won’t forget!

  1. No new miniature systems. None. Nadda. I have serious/worthwhile collections of a handful of games already: WHFB, 40K, FoW, DBA, Warmachine, Hordes and LotR. These genres cover everything from mass combat ancients to science fiction – enough for any man. New miniature systems come out every year. I’ve had my eye on a couple of them – AT-43 in particular – but I’m going to look and not touch. Promise.
  2. Less overlap in miniature genres. Here’s an example – I like WWII gaming, so I ownFlames of War. But I also want to play WWII skirmish games – you know, 1:1 scale in 28mm or some such. No. No no no. Really, when I split a genre, I usually end up with 2 incomplete systems – usable but not full. This is already the case with 40K. I’ve been collecting 40K minis for over 5 years, but my heart was really not in the game – it seemed too simple, and ultimately, was unfulfilling. Warmachine came along, and I couldn’t get enough of it. Then 40K 5th ed. came out, and it made 40K worth playing again. Now I’m torn between collecting the 2 systems, that are both scratching the same science fiction itch. No more overlapping. I’ll keep what I have, but I’m not going to start playing Confrontation when I already have Hordes for fantasy skirmishing.
  3. Paint what you’ve got. Get more minis when you’re done assembling/flashing/painting what you have. I have boxes of unopened minis in storage – finding them amidst the collection of others is almost as satisfying as buying them was in the first place. Which is why I ended up with so many anyway. I’ve been toying with building a Dark Elf army for years, so I have a few choice units – unopened and ready to go. If I paint what I already have, I’ll know I’m actually interested in putting them on the table, and not just the idea of the army. One way or another those boxed collections are going to disappear – either by their use or their trade. Paint what you have – and acquire more when you’re done. I’m following this rule with my Trollblood Hordes army already.
  4. Paint more. I already paint more minis per year than anyone I game with, but that shouldn’t stop me from wanting to paint even more! The trick is to find a painting style that looks good and is still reasonably fast. If it looks good at arms length, then it’s done. I’ve pretty much found this style, now I have to perfect it.
  5. Play more board games. For the last 10 years I’ve been so obsessed with miniature gaming, that I’ve been overlooking the truly fantastic innovations that board games have been making recently. Dust, Carcasonne, Conflict of Heroes, Battlelore and Command & Colors: Ancients to name a few. There are more I’d like to try, but because I thoroughly research all my new board game acquisitions before I buy ’em, I haven’t bought a dud. The next-gen board games can be very satisfying to play – Battlelore is the perfect example of a board game that uses miniatures with incredible effect.  Which leads me to my next point…
  6. Paint my Battlelore miniatures. Great game – play it more, paint ’em all – even the expansion minis. They’re so simple to do – I bet I could do the basic set in a weekend.
  7. Opponents opponents opponents. Ever buy a game that really interests you, only to realize that no one else is as interested as you are in it? I used to do this all the time 10 years ago. But hell, I had money 10 years ago too. If I’m interested in a game of any kind, I resolve to not only research the game, but to research who wants to play it as well. If I can’t guarantee an opponent or two who’ll give it a go, then it’s not worth picking up. No exceptions. And constantly network for new opponents and friends. (Well, unless I really just want to read new rules). Which brings me to my next point…
  8. Write a set of rules and sell them. Seriously. When you’ve been playing games for decades like I have, you know a thing or two about rules and their presentation. There are so many esoteric rulesets out there, and I’ve bought some of them, why shouldn’t I write my own? I’ve had so many ideas for games I’d like to play that I’ve actually started writing 3, but never finished them. I’d really like to play a true skirmish game of 40K, with say… a dozen guys a side. But the rules would be more detailed and goal oriented than 40K currently is – even assymetrical forces! – good lord – a game where the sides aren’t always equal, points wise?!? It can be done.And selling rules over the ‘net has never been easier. There are so many places already setup to sell e-publications, you’re spoiled for choice. Not counting the ability to sell using PayPal. So why not?
  9. Focus. Focus – what do I mean exactly? Stick with getting something meaningful done in one system, before moving on to another. I have several gaming interests on the go, but there’s no worth in painting up one regiment of Saurus warriors. What the hell are you going to do with that? Paint up at least enough LM models to make a 500pt warband force, even if it’s not the perfect, final force you want to play with (see res. #3), but it’s usable in a my WHFB gaming circle. Awesome. Then I can paint up another Trollblood unit. (Which is one of the really good things about skirmish games – sometimes a unit is 1 model.)
  10. Assemble the Samurai armies! I looked so hard for Samurai minis I could do mass combat games with. Then when I found them, I painted up a couple of prototype stands right away – and they sat. Dammit Dave, finish your Samurai… they’re freakin’ cool! (Good lord there’s alot of painting in this list.)

Well, there it is – my list of 10 gaming resolutions for 2009. Maybe I’ll add some more as the weeks go on. Maybe I’ll delete some out of embarassment. But that’s not the point is it? The point is to to reflect… and make change. Be better.

2 thoughts on “Ten Gaming Resolutions for 2009

  1. Thanks for the feedback Uwe – I’m a big fan. Conflict of Heroes is arguably the best WWII boardgame I think I’ve ever played – and my friends and I have wondered how we could use our FoW minis with it. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

